Exciting Developments

The official call for papers for CO4: The Fourth Online Consciousness Conference will go out towards the end of October but this summer has been an exciting time for Consciousness Online and so I thought I would share the recent major developments.

First, after over a year and a half of work the special issue of Consciousness and Cognition featuring re-written papers from CO2, new commentaries, and author’s responses is now complete and is scheduled to be printed in early 2012!

Secondly, I am happy to announce that the papers from CO3 are under contract to be published as a book in Springer’s series Studies in Brain and Mind (pending outside review) under the tentative title Phenomenology and the Neurophilosophy of Consciousness. The volume will feature papers, commentaries, and author responses. I am also happy to announce that nearly all of the conference presenters and commenters have agreed to submit something. I will have to wait until the review process is over to give a detailed list but I can say that the book looks to be very promising and I am very happy to be working on this project.

Finally a brief word about CO4, scheduled for February 2012. There are truly exciting possibilities for the invited part of the conference. I am still working out the details so cannot let the quale out of the bag just yet; but stay tuned! What I can say now is that there will be a keynote session by Bernard Baars entitled “Global Workspace Theory: Six necessary conditions for consciousness”. Also, I have accepted proposals for two special sessions. The first, organized by James Dow, is on ‘The Social Conditions for Self-Consciousness’ and the second, organized by Myrto Mylopoulos, is on ‘Action Consciousness’. I have every reason to believe that these sessions will be excellent and I can’t wait to see what James and Myrto come up with.

Leave a Reply

